| Rules say that the order in which characters perform actions the sum of their abilities, March counting 3 times. Two questions on this: 1. If a character possesses an item that raises his ability only while it’s in his possession, does this raised ability count in the above? * No. 2. What is the tie-breaker if 2 characters are tied? * Lower character number goes first. |
There’s Elf Mercenaries that moved into a sea province this turn. That’s an oddity, right? * Mercenaries can wander at sea, using whatever transport they may find for hire. |
Does NA allow extra movement regardless of the mix of land and sea hexes? For example, a NA-2 character with a fleet could move to land, fight and win, move to sea, & move to another land all in one turn? *Yes. |
Can a king be resurrected by another position? * Yes, but they won’t get the king for themselves. |
Can Characters without armies (i.e. neither Fleets) move into sea provinces? * Yes. |
| Can you hire a hero that controls a province? * No. |
Is the 25% penalty on army morale effective only if you die or specify “FL” in your orders, or also if you flee due to cautious/cowardly temper? * It applies in both cases. |
Is there a way to specify in your special encounter plan that you don’t want to initiate a challenge with an opposing army general, but will fight if challenged? * Yes, make an encounter plan with a “FL” at the very end of it, eventually after a large number of Melee tactics. And what happens if you have a blank plan? * The character will accept a duel only if challenged, and decide upon his own tactics. |
What happens with CA-PB,FI,ME? Do you get extra Fire arrow rounds or a better chance to hit with your arrows? * No. |
With Gilgamesh, my visitor from Valhalla, do I have to give his 1 order/year in the Spring Phase or can I issue it for any phase as long as I only give one order? * It must be in spring. |
If one character (with a skill of 2 or higher) is training another character with a lower skill, does the teacher still have a 10% chance of increasing his own skill level? * Yes. |
If there are no armies in one of your provinces and an Enemy player-king invades, do they immediately gain control of it without a fight? * Yes. |
Can you recruit Mercenaries in a neutral hero’s province? If so, do the Mercenaries immediately attack the provincial armies (and if so, is it in this phase or the next? — important if REcruiting in early winter) * Yes, you can recruit them and they will attack at the end of the phase. |
Is the order that characters actions are performed determined and fixed at the beginning of the year, or is it recomputed each phase based on any new skills that the characters may have learned? * It’s recomputed each phase. |
If I want to send a Cautious or Cowardly character to SEarch a feature, can I order him/her to search it several times in one turn, hoping that if s/he chickens out once, s/he may not a second or third time? * Yes. |
On the March table, it is unclear whose skill is referred to in the chance for two characters leading armies to meet up. Is the chance based on the lowest of the two characters’ MA skill, or the highest? * It may be based on either one. Usually, the character with the most armies is fighting the battle, and the other character marches to join him, and this other character has his March skill checked. |
When picking starting skills for a King, if you pick ME or AR or SA, that will give him a skill of 2, right? * Yes. |
Can you assign two of the four skill slots to one of those, and get a beginning skill of 3? * Yes. |
Can a good king charm or resurrect an evil hero? * Yes. |
In a desert province ruled by a provincial dragon chieftan, would the dragons get the usual -1 modifier to level (as they are fighting in a desert without a camel caravan)? * Yes. |
I am sending a character into an encounter. I have a character in the same province with WH-3. I want the second character to perform two RE attempts on the first one, in case he dies in the encounter. Is there anything wrong with that? * No, it’s OK. |
If a character SEarching a feature has orders for several spell casts, but gets hit with a Spiritwrack spell first, will the character waste subsequent turns trying to cast spells, or automatically skip to the first Melee order? * He skips to Melee. |
Can a character PR-NA to raise the quality of fleets? * Yes, either PR-TA or PR-NA will raise the quality of all fleets and armies. |
The 132nd Legion/Mercenaries in Khurum have suddenly gone from Average Quality to Green. Is this normal? * You are probably in a desert province without camels now. |
Is it possible for Mercenaries to be attacked? * No. |
Exactly what is the scope of the strength-raising ability conferred by the Naval ability? Does it apply to land units being transported at sea? Air units in a sea battle? Fleets in a land (coastal) province? The simplest case would be: Naval increases strength of all units in a sea province, and Tactical does the same on land. Correct? * Yes. |
Does a land army use up a movement point to conquer an unoccupied province? * Yes. |
Can an enemy character take over an unoccupied province, or does he need armies to do so? * He needs armies. |
If he recruits a Mercenary army in an otherwise unoccupied province does he immediately conquer it? * Yes (at the end of the phase.) |
Do defending armies use up movement points in battle? * No, unless by moving under a “Defend” order. |
If both a character and the Garrison Commander have armies in an attacked province, do they unite? * Yes. |
If I recruit armies in the same phase that an enemy force invades, do I get to add these to my forces (or create a force) before the battle (which, I think, is supposed to occur at the end of the phase)? * Yes. |
If a unit is being led by a different leader than the supreme commander in a battle, which leader’s race and Druid rating determines the unit’s effective strength: the leader it’s assigned to, or the supreme battle commander? * The leader it’s assigned to. |
Is the chance of a unit improving quality by Practice reduced if the leader has insufficient Druidic ability? * No. |
If I cast a Plague spell on a province, and then move into it next phase, the Plague should be over in the original target province when I enter it, right? * Yes. |
However, if it spreads to the province *from* which I cast it next phase, will I avoid it by moving out, or does it take effect before I move? * It takes effect before you move. If you cast a plague spell on a province, that province will not be affected the following phase. It will spread outward at the end of the phase of casting, so you wouldn’t be save unless you moved in on the phase you cast it, assuming the army leader moves after the spellcaster. |
If I cast clairvoyance on a King, do I find out about all his heroes or just him personally? * Him personally. |
Are you automatically informed of any merc units within one province of any of your characters? * Yes. |
If another kingdom’s character is in your province, will you automatically see any armies with them? * Yes. |
A cautious character has a “1-50%” chance to refuse an encounter, and a cowardly one has a “50-100%” chance. Is it that each character has his/her own “wimp-out” chance that falls somewhere within the appropriate range, or does it vary according to the encounter? * It varies with the encounter. |
Will neutral heroes ever initiate a challenge? * No. |
I am currently playing a game in which there exists a province owned by me with some of my armies in it and also some armies owned by a neutral King in it. I am an evil king. If I were to break treaty with the neutral king, we would become enemies immediately and (presumably) this would trigger a battle between my army and the King’s army in my province.Suppose that happens:
* None. |
If a hero has reached his aptitude in ability, his chance of gaining a level through practice is cut in half. Is his chance of gaining a level through experience cut in half as well? * Yes. |
I have a question about the saga program. If you cast a resurrection spell, it asks you to enter orders for the resurrected character. If the resurrected character is a King however, this results in the character having two sets of orders. Am I correct in assuming that the orders for the Royal heir is used until the resurrection attempt, and then are used only if the resurrection attempt failed, and if the spell succeeds, the orders listed after the spell is cast are used? * Yes. |
The rules don’t specify whether the ORIGINAL King has to own the home province in order to double recruit (i.e., use the advantage of the home province). If I’m not the original King, can I use the double recruitment? * No. |
Is there any chance of being able to cast a spell if you have 0 skill in it? * No. |
Is there a chance of gaining experience and getting 1 skill from trying to cast it? * No. |
Can a Hero cast Phantasmal Armies on a non-co-located character? * No. |
Can one of my heroes cast Tornado on a province and kill an unemployed mercenary army in the province? * Yes. |
Can a PH led by Hero A be transported by a FL led by Hero B, if they move the same route? * No. |
Can an army use both air and sea transport in the same turn? I.e., can an army formed by 1 Dragon, 1 Fleet, and 3 Legions move at sea? * Yes. |
What is the effect of leading an army with 2 Excalibur? * +1 quality, still. |
If a king dies on the first phase, will the royal heir do the orders meant for the king on the following phases? * No. |
If a king dies while leading an army, what happens to the army if it is in enemy or friendly territory? * The army stays under the command of the royal heir, which will be the same character number. |
If a royal heir dies a number of times without being resurrected and if he has not done any practices, when he finally gets resurrected, will he become like the king just before he died. * Yes. |
My Royal Heir has the Scriptures of Holy Thoughts — if I Resurrect his predecessor, will he get that item? * Yes. |
The rules say that if you are druidic and treat with someone who is neutral, they will become allied. If you treat with an enemy will they go neutral? * No. |
If you treat and the other person breaks do they cancel out? * No, the break takes priority. |
I tried to defend an ally’s territory from his enemy last turn. I’m neutral with the attacking force. However, my defending force did not respond to the attack. Is this because of the neutral status of the attackers? * Yes. |
Also, what happens if two Kings meet in my territory with armies? Both are allied with me, but they are neutral with each other. Will their armies fight or otherwise preclude the move? I don’t think so, but I wanted to double check. * It will be an OK move. |
Does a leader who is double recruiting need to have the armies that he as using as a “seed” for the entire turn? I.E., can someone pick them up from the leader the same phase that the double recruiting occurs? * The only limitation on picking up a unit from your own leader is that you must know the unit number in advance (or, if picking up from the garrison, Pick Up All.) |
Does each player move in sequence in accordance with their King’s number, or is it random each turn? * The move order is given in section 3.0 (King’s number has nothing to do with it.) |
If a hero with one Fleet army moves into a non-defended sea province and conquers it, does he use up one move point or 2? * One. |
Do monsters use the items they are guarding? Will a titan use the bracelets he is guarding so as to give him one extra level in melee? * No, monsters don’t use the guarded magic items. |
If players vote for an emperor, does the player with the highest taxbase get any credit for the Emperor office? * No, if players vote for the world emperor then that overrides the highest-tax-base criteria (that only applies if someone gets 55% of the world’s tax base without an election). |
What happens if a sea hex is flooded, then subsequently parted. Do the flood and the part cancel out the same way they do when the reverse order occurs? (sooooo much water, the parting doesn’t help?) * A flood spell will fail on a sea hex. |
What happens if a *land* hex is “part-sea”ed? Does that prevent fleets from moving out of the land hex into the sea? (it should, if parting a sea hex pins them) * The Part Sea will fail on a land hex. |
Do whales contribute anything to a battle in a parted sea? * No. |
Is there anything in the program to prevent someone from leaving an army to an enemy leader? * Yes; it’s not allowed. You can leave armies to a leader of a friendly or neutral player. |
Is there any limit on the number of items one character can try and ‘give’ to another? * The Give order is limited to one item, but the Give tactic in encounters can be used any number of times. |
How does Voting work? If enough players/tax base points (50%?) vote to hold an election, is one held? * Only if 55% vote to hold it. |
Does the election happen at the beginning or end of the next turn? (i.e. do all your characters still execute their actions before the game actually ends) * =>End of next turn. |
How much of the election do you need to be crowned emperor (55%?) * Yes, 55%. |
If you have exactly the same number of merit points as another character, is the tie broken by treasury, then taxbase, or does whoever got their first maintain the office until displaced? * Treasury, then taxbase. “Titles” are different than offices however, and the tiebreakers are not revealed to the players. |
Does “world-famous” as a character description indicate a 4 or 5+ skill level? (or do I have to find that one out myself?) * You’ll need to find out yourself. |
Is it possible to recruit units other than mercenaries from provinces owned by allied forces? * No, but they can issue a recruit order for one of their characters to give the unit to you. |
What happens if two players break treaty the same turn? What if one or both were druidic or evil? * The orders are executed normally at the appropriate time. |
A temporary hero (Tornedain) cast a successful Clairvoyance on a king in the early summer. I never received any info on that king; is this because Tornedain died in the fall? * Yes, that would be because Tornedain died in the fall. Other reasons why a Clairvoyance spell doesn’t give you any reports would be because:
|
If I begin a year with units in an enemy province, can my units there leave that province before our first battle and enter one of my provinces? * Your units can leave before the first battle and enter your province, unless your foe moves another force in before your character does his move. |
Can my opponent move his armies from his province to mine, if we both begin the turn in his province? * It would be illegal for him to move from a contested province to a hostile province, except that if your moves comes before his, if you move out before he does, the province won’t be contested at the time he attempts the move. |
Another issue of defend orders. If an army has orders to defend an adjacent province that has another one of my armies in it, and this province is attacked, will the army with defend orders try to join up with the army in the province being attacked? * All defensive armies in a province always fight together. |
When a king dies, do his armies need to be picked up by the Royal Heir, or are they automatically assigned to him? * The armies are led by the Heir. See the “ARMIES” section of the turn report to see who leads what. |
If I have my king in a hex with one unit, a hero in the hex with one unit, and a garrison commander in the hex with 8 units, who will be supreme commander if I am attacked there? * In the situation you refer to, the supreme commander would be whichever character has the best Tac ability; tiebreaker is highest total skills. |
I have an attacking general stuck in a contested province. On phase 1 can he move out to any surrounding province (not owned by another King) or must it be to a province I already own? That is – can I move out of the contested province and enter another neutral province starting a new battle? * Yes. |
Are armies still forced to stand and fight when their province is invaded in phase 1? (i.e. they can’t run to an adjacent province before I get to attack them?) * Armies can’t run to an adjacent province if you invade them, unless their leader has higher movement priority as defined in [3.0]. |
Can a hero be ordered to fire himself? I noticed someone else’s hero did this in the general intelligence report and it seems a neat trick. * Yes, a hero can fire himself. |
If a hero has FLEE as his first encounter order, but the flee fails, does this use up his order for spell-range combat? Or will his next order be done at spell range? (I should really know this from experience, and have the impression the answer is NO to the initial question — but would like to be sure.) * If the flee fails, the opponent has the opportunity to close to archery range, if he does not want to cast a spell. |
The Mirror-Image spell description says the phantasm has the same characteristics as when the spell was cast. Does this include the effects of spells that the hero has already cast, e.g., Invisibility or Holy Symbol? * Yes, the spell effects are the same with CA-mi. |
How does the %Riv work in the “Imperial Office Report”? Is it the percentage of #1, the person ahead of you or the person behind you? * If the %Riv is less than 100, it’s the percentage of the leader in points. If it’s 100+, it’s your percentage compared to the next-closest character. |
How do I assign the Royal Heir his new abilities? (using SAGA for move creation) * Use the “K” option in Saga. |
I tried to attack Lancashire, a province which I had reason to believe was the home province of a dropped player. I was right, and Turn 5 noted that the province was not player controlled. As far as I know Province 406 (Lancashire) was the only province that had ever been owned by Player 20 (the drop-out). This meant that his total tax base should be 10 and should always have been 10. Yet when I Attacked I ran into armies that required 13 gold/turn to support (plus any characters that had been controlled by this player). How is this possible – is it an error, the way it’s supposed to be or am I missing something? * When a player drops, everything goes into suspended animation and no revenues are collected or expenses paid. Also, now that I’ve failed to take the province, will the computer generate any aggressive actions for the dropped position? * No. |
Are conditional orders possible (i.e., if something happens during the turn, do “this”, and if it doesn’t, do “that”? * No. |
Is it possible to recruit armies for a Hero and GA units for the GC with one order? Or must it be broken up over two phases? * Must be broken up. |
Naval ability allows one extra province of movement per level. But what if a hero with no naval moves a ship one hex and then gives the fleet to a hero with naval? Does the new hero still get the extra movement? * Yes, whoever currently leads the fleet has his naval bonus added. |
Another question about the new “waiting” rule. A king has been killed, and his Royal Heir is in 101 with initiative of 5. A character with white magic is in 102 with initiative of 10. On the first phase, the royal heir moves to 102 and the character in 102 casts resurrect on the heir. My question – does the character in 102 “understand” to wait until the heir arrives, or will he cast the spell before the heir arrives? * No, the “waiting” rule applies only when the 2 characters are in the same province in a phase and the higher-initiative one is moving out. |
I fought a battle in province 2113 I had 3 Heavy Cav and Phantasmal armies against 2 dwarven axemen and 1 light cav. The results said that I won and destroyed 1 axeman, but it also said that the light cav destroyed 1 heavy cav. This is the first time I have seen both sides lose units in a battle. Is this outcome correct? Thanks for the help. * Both sides can lose armies in a battle. |
If player A orders a move against a province owned by player B, but this fails because they are neutral to each other, is B informed of A’s attempted move (under General Intelligence)? * No. |
Last turn some of my heroes tried to cast a Tornado spell on an adjacent province. None of the spells worked and several of my characters received messages that “A strange magical counterspell may have worked against my spell”. I wasn’t aware of any such counterspells listed in the rules. * There are some magic items which operate against a specific magic ability, which sometimes reduce or eliminate your spell chance. |
The rules imply that the restrictions on armies merging (table 4.12, “contingents unify”) ONLY applies to INVADING armies … just wanted to verify that this is indeed correct. So, if several armies allied with the Defender of an invaded province enter it in the same phase as the invader, they will automatically unify, right? * Yes. |
In the European variant, does the map wraparound from east to west? Can I move from hex 1806 to 0106? * No. |
Is the length of a battle line determined each new battle or is the length for each province only calculated once in a game/turn? * It’s determined for each new battle. |
Is it possible for an enemy army to retreat into one of his own provinces if this province is contested? * Yes. |
Is it possible for a defender to move out of a contested province without a battle? * Yes, unless you move a force into the province before he can move out. |
Is it assumed that NPC heroes who lead provinces have explored their province to 100%? e.g. do they get the 1.25 modifier for exploration if I haven’t explored their province yet? * Yes. |
The rules about the exploration modifier say it can be as high as 1.25. I assume this is dependant on the lesser of the two exploration levels? For example, if I’ve explored a province to 20%, but the defender has 100%, would he still get 80% of the 1.25 modifier (1.20)? * Yes. |
On phase 2, my king will move into an adjacent province. Suppose that, also on phase 2, another player king also moves into the same, adjacent, neutral-hero-owned province. Since both of us move in on the same phase, do we:
|
In a battle where the overall commander has some subordinate commanders each one leading some units, does an Oratory spell on the overall commander affect all the units on his side, or only the ones directly led by him? (I.e., does one need to cast OR on each commander to get all the units?) * An OR spell only works on the units directly led by the character. |
Can you “Pursue” a dead character? * Yes. |
If I cast part sea on an undefended sea province and then move into that province with a land army (thus conquering it), do I use up one movement point or two? * Two. |
Why do my characters always attack opposing leaders and try to kill them? I want to defeat their armies and hire them, but I can’t if they’re dead! * Your characters will attack opposing leaders if they have attacking tactics in their “Special Encounter Plan” (the 4th line in your character plans on your screen), without a flee tactic. So, either put in a flee tactic or have a blank special encounter plan. |
Can I write orders to cast a bless spell more than once to cover the possibility that the attempt will fail on the first try? * Yes. You can cast a bless spell more than once if you have 3 or higher in White Magic. A failed attempt counts the same as a successful attempt against your limit of spells. |
If my hero A (of initiative 20) is ordered to invade a province, and a co-located hero B (initiative 10) casts an Oratory spell on him on the same phase as the invasion, then A’s invasion movement will actually take place with initiative 10 (or 9?), right? * That’s right; the invasion will take place with init-10. |
I can’t understand how the Mirror-Image Phantasm spell runs. In the 3rd sentence, you wrote: “The two mirror images then fight it out…”. Are there TWO mirror images??? * No, the sentence refers to the opponent AND the mirror image. |
If you perform a PRACTICE action, and one of your character rises 1 skill level, will it be effective in the present turn or in the next turn? * The rise in skill level from practicing will be immediate. |
If you perform a RECRUIT action to recruit a mercenary unit (which already has its unit number), can you pick up this unit in the same turn? * Yes, you can pick up the unit in the same turn. Usually you would “RE <merc #> for self”, in which case the pick-up would be unnecessary. |
I tried to put more than 5 orders in an Encounter Plan: after the fifth order SAGA, instead of the order, writes “…”. What does it mean? * The “…” in an encounter plan means Saga does not have room to display the order. |
The rules indicate that spell-casting magic objects don’t fail, but I have a statement indicating that the cologne works like a level 2 spellcaster. Is “level 2” just for purposes of priority during combat? * Yes. |
I have a question about flanking attacks. If an army of two units is defending a mountain province, and the province allows three-wide battle lines, would only one of the attacker’s second-row armies be able to flank?* Yes.If the province was only two wide, would that prevent any flanking? * Yes. |
My king, with Psymagic skill 2, can cast two spells in hand to hand combat; can they be the same spell (eg, cast psychic blast on rounds one and again on round, say, 7)? * No. |
My henchman, Attla, has necromancy magic skill one. Hand of death works against living crits, Control Undead against nonliving crits. If I specify Hand of Death (eg), and he meets a skeleton (eg), will he know to cast Control Undead instead? * No. |
On action 4, my character “Picks up all” in his hex. Another of my characters moves into the hex on the same action (but I don’t know the moving character’s initiative). Will my Picking character get the moving character’s armies? (as I want her to do). * No, “Pick up all” only works on unleaded armies you own. |
A henchman moves into an Allies hex. He encounters a “Sheriff”, who kill him. Was this just a random encounter, or did the henchman in some way provoke the Sheriff. * A random encounter. |
What does Super Ak have that AK doesn’t? * Super-AK has about 3 times the number of players and some more “imperial titles” for players to shoot for. |
Do I need Druidism to talk to skeletal armies of exotic types? * In this game, there’s no concept of talking with armies. If you’re talking about the requisite druidism for leading armies of different racial types, that doesn’t change when they are skeletal. |
Can I recruit, in my home province, 2 of each army type AND 2 Garrison AND all Mercs in one go? * Yes. |
Why not just offer 4 gold to all heroes, if they only take as much as they want? It seems you risk nothing by offering too much. Or do they take the offer as a sign-up bonus but from then onwards is only paid the amount he REALLY wants? * The only thing you risk by offering 4 gold is 4 gold. If you think he is worth less, offer less. They are only paid as much as they want, always. |
Saga allows people with no Archery skill to fire arrows in encounters. Why? * They may gain archery by practicing before the encounter. |
It seems character and armies are paid twice in the turn you hire them: the first time when you hire/recruit them, the second time at the end of the turn. Is it true? * Yes. |
Using E-Mail, can I give you a message to pass on to all of the players in my game? And ask you to send it to them with their next turns? * To send a message to all players in game 117, put it at the end of your moves in the format: To: 0 <Message> To: 1 <Message> ... |
I tried to hire a character, offering 6 gold. The character responded with “I won’t work for you for less than 5 gold”. What’s going on? I tried also to hire that character, offering 5 gold, and the SAGA program wouldn’t let me do. * The maximum a character will accept in pay is 4 gold. The “5 gold” is a clumsy way for the computer to say the character is un-hireable. |
How high can an army’s strength multiplier go? e.g. what happens say if you have an Elite Human Skeletal unit, with a leader who is using Sword Excalibur, and also an Oratory spell cast on the leader and force… in the Home province of the force… * The strength multiplier can go as high as 9. |
A hero of Valhalla joined my forces last turn. I am now unsure how long this hero will help me: 5 phases (=1 turn) or 7 phases (because it is turn 13)? * He will be there for 5 phases. |
Rulebook point [1.1] says: “Native races are human, elven, dwarven, orcish, eagles, dragons or whales.” Mermen, Trolls, and the others are not races? * Yes they are races. The printed rules are a little old, some other races came after its printing. |
The rules say: ” You can order your general to defend an area of 7 provinces….. Note that you can use this rule to limit the provinces you want to defend.”Please explain the whole paragraph because we’re not sure we have understood it. * Suppose you order a general to defend a province 2 hexes away from where he is. This means the general will defend only the province(s) next to BOTH the hex he’s in, AND the province he is ordered to defend. |
About the PURSUE/TRAIL command. How does the Encounter Plan work? Example:The pursuit starts on phase 1, and it is resolved on phase 4. What happens on phase 5? The computer performs the first or the fifth order foreseen by the Encounter Plan? * The 5th order. |
About the GIVE command. How is it possible to: “…specify that the gift will be made only if the recipient gives you a specified magic item in the same phase”? * The computer will ask you what you are trading your magic item for. Only if the other character issues a “Give” order giving you that item you want, do you give him your item in return. |
What are the free attack rounds you get with archery, psychic blast and so on?Please explain better how they work. * That means you get free combat actions. For example, if you get 3 free rounds with a Psychic Blast, you can Cast a spell, Fire arrows, and Melee once. Then the defender will start doing things to you again. |
In Personal Combat at melee range, is the BASE chance to hit always 50%? * Yes. |
If a King is resurrected by his Heir, who is the current Sovereign, and what happens to his Heir? * The former King is sovereign with all his characteristics, and the Heir goes back to playing with his rubber ducky in his bathtub. |
In turn 2 I cast the Illusory Terrain spell, turning a plain province into a sea one. If in the next turn I want to move my phalanxes into this province, what happen to them? I mean, is it sea for them as well? If so, can they fight in a sea province, and at what strength? * It will function as a sea province. The troops can fight there if they have transport, in which case it they will fight with a strength halfway between their strength at sea, and at plains. |
The Mirror Image Phantasm Spell is driving us crazy! If this spell is cast in a Personal Combat on a humanoid opponent, how is it possible to establish his intelligence level (and the caster’s)? * You have to guess about the monsters; dragons are smart, while Giant Amoebas are dumb as can be. A character’s intelligence would be Medium. |
Do spells like Tornadoes, Earthquake, and Plague have any affect on hero-controlled provinces or provinces that "can call on an army to defend their territory"? * Tornadoes and Plague, yes. Earthquake, no. |
I’m still somewhat confused by the Scout order. I issued that order (plus Talk) to a hero scouting a feature, who was then killed by the monster in it. I had purposely omitted to issue any combat orders after the Scout/Talk, because the rule says that adding any other tactic spoils the chance of finding the Special (if any is present). But looking at [5.0] it does seem to allow “aggressive tactics” to be used if negotiations fail. Would such back-up tactics have any effect on the chance of finding a special? * If you do “Talk, <Backup tactics>, Scout”, the backup tactics wouldn’t have any effect on that chance. |
Suppose 101 is a sea province, 201 is land, and 301 is sea. Could a Whale army move from 101 to 201 to 301? * Yes. |
If hero A recruits a whale for hero B, but hero B is not in the province yet (because hero B is moving into the province on the same phase, and hero A happens to move first), what happens? Does hero A not recruit the whale at all, recruit it for himself, or recruit it for the garrison commander? * Recruits it for the garrison commander. |
Suppose a whale army is in a sea province and part sea is cast on that province. Can the whales move out of the (now plains) province to an adjacent sea province? * No. |
Are Naval and March applicable to flying units? * No. |
Can an army move out of a province of a player that has neutral relations with the army’s owner? * Yes, you can move any of your armies from a neutral province if you’re going to your own province, or an allied province, an enemy province, or a non-player-owned province. |
A blog about "Adventurer Kings", the worldly known play-by-mail game by David Snell.
FAQ
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment